Nominations open for “bigger and better” ITS (UK) Awards

The brightest and best innovators in the country’s transport technology industry are being urged to enter the 2022 ITS (UK) Awards, as the nominations process gets underway.

There are eleven awards up for grabs this year, as the UK’s Intelligent Transport Systems industry association significantly expands its event to better recognise the huge contribution technology is making to a greener, safer and more efficient transport network.

The ITS (UK) Awards, which were first held in 2006, are adding an extra six awards to the list this year, meaning more than double last year’s number of prizes are on offer.

The new awards include ones for Active Travel, Better Environment through Technology, Best Use of Data or Connectivity, Enforcement Scheme and Public Transport.  There is also one for “Frontline Hero” who works for a Member organisation on the “front line” of delivering transport such as on-street engineering.

The Society is also recognising the contribution women make in ITS by introducing the Jennie Martin ITS Woman of the Year award, named in honour of the long-term Secretary General who is in her last year in the role.

Awards for outstanding contribution, Early Careers Professional and Inclusive Mobility continue at the event, which again will be hosted by ITS (UK) President Steve Norris.

This year’s event takes place alongside the President’s Dinner on 13 October at the Jury’s Inn Hotel in Milton Keynes.   It will be held after the second ITS (UK) Members’ Day, which this year is hosted at the nearby Connected Places Catapult.  The Members’ Day is a chance for the industry to get together and network amongst informal-but-informative chat about ITS.

The new list of Awards categories are:

  • Rees Hills Award for Outstanding Personal Contribution
  • Eric Sampson Award for Early Careers Professional of the Year
  • Jennie Martin Award for ITS Woman of the Year
  • Frontline Hero Award
  • Active Travel Award
  • Better Environment through Technology Award
  • Best Use of Data or Connectivity Award
  • Enforcement Scheme Award
  • Public Transport Award
  • Inclusive Mobility Award
  • Project of the Year Award (chosen as the stand-out project from all of the categories)

The entry form and background material is here.

(Picture shows last year’s Rees Hills winner Ian Patey with Steve Norris and Jennie Martin, courtesy ITS (UK))


Related Stories


All the latest highways news direct to your inbox every week day

Subscribe now