It’s emerged almost 78,000 motorists who have accounts at the Dartford Crossing have had them automatically closed because they’ve not been used for 15 months.
The website MoneySavingExpert.com is urging people to check if their account has been closed without realising, because if it has, they could be fined if they then use the crossing thinking they’re paid the charge.
People who don’t use their registered vehicle to make a crossing for at least a year, are notified by email that their account will be closed, and if they don’t then use it for a further 90 days or actively choose to keep it open, it will be closed – even if there’s still money in there.
People are not refunded automatically and if they later use the Dartford Crossing their account won’t be reactivated.
Figures obtained by MoneySavingExpert.com under the Freedom of Information Act show that as of last November 77,949 accounts had been closed solely due to inactivity, with a total of £1,014,414 still in them.
Steve Nowottny, news and investigations editor at MoneySavingExpert.com, said, “Motorists who use the Dartford Crossing may be surprised to learn that cash can be stuck in closed Dart Charge accounts – and especially that if accounts are automatically closed due to inactivity, they won’t be automatically reopened when you next cross, even if there’s still money in there.
“Of course, right now, with many driving less and cancelling travel due to the pandemic, occasional drivers could be even more likely than normal to see accounts lapse. Ideally, those with money stuck in closed accounts would be automatically refunded. But with that not happening, the message to motorists is clear – if you’ve a pre-pay Dart Charge account you’ve not used in a while, check if it’s closed and if so whether you’re due money back.”
(Picture – gov.uk)