CAV Forth bus wins self-driving industry Vehicle of the Year Award

The driverless bus project near Edinburgh, CAV Forth, has won headline Vehicle of the Year prize at the inaugural Self-driving Industry Awards.

The fleet of five single-decker, low-emission Stagecoach buses which have been taking fares in Scotland daily since May, has given passengers their first taste of self-driving public transport.

Presented at the Turner Contemporary in Margate by, the Self-driving Industry Awards celebrate excellence in connected and automated mobility (CAM), in the UK and internationally. Peer recognition played a vital role, with all entrants gaining the right to nominate individuals and vehicles for the top honours. editor, Neil Kennett, said: “Self-driving is about to completely revolutionise how people and goods move. The tech is already about as safe as the average human driver, and it’s only going to get better.

“From a UK perspective, following the King’s Speech, we’ve got an incredible opportunity to define a successful, safety-first approach to rollout. In stark contrast to the robotaxi controversy in California, we are seen as a trusted leader in self-driving, widely recognised as the best place to test.

“To illustrate just how close we are to legalisation, last week, our Person of the Year winner, Alex Kendall of Wayve, gave Transport Secretary Mark Harper a self-driving lift to Parliament for the first reading of the new Automated Vehicles (AV) Bill.

“Apart from the eye-catching livery, the CAVForth buses appear quite ordinary. In fact, they are extraordinary, operating with a safety driver at SAE Level 4 on journeys across the iconic Forth Road Bridge. With partners including Alexander Dennis, Fusion Processing and Stagecoach, we were delighted to present Project CAVForth with the first ever Self-driving Industry Vehicle of the Year Award.”

Full list of winners:

  • Vehicle of the Year: Project CAVForth
  • Person of the Year: Alex Kendall, Wayve
  • Consumer Champion: Rebecca Posner, CCAV
  • Industry Legend: Professor Paul Newman CBE, Oxa
  • Aftermarket Award: Jifeline
  • Design Award: Dromos
  • Hardware Award: Arbe Robotics
  • Foundational Software Award: Applied EV
  • Insurance Award: Marsh
  • Legal Award: Burges Salmon LLP
  • Research Award: Reed Mobility
  • Sensing Software Award: LeddarTech
  • Testing Award: Kodiak Robotics
  • Trust Award: Angoka
  • V2X Award: Beam Connectivity
  • Special Recognition Award: Kenneth Clarke, Silvera Automotive Solutions

The event was hosted by Jim Carey (although probably not that one) and the judging panel included Alex Bainbridge of Autoura, Corey Clothier of Aribo, and Neil Kennett of Cars of the Future. Reflecting the stong sustainability theme, the event charity was Rise Up Clean Up Margate, which is working to get a beach cleaning robot for the Kent town’s Main Sands.

Councillor Rob Yates reiterated an ambition to have self-driving cars ferry delegates from Margate Station to the Turner for next year’s Self-driving Industry Awards 2024.

(Picture – Highways News)


Related Stories


All the latest highways news direct to your inbox every week day

Subscribe now

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.