LCRIG announces record entries for this year’s DfT Special Recognition Awards

A record number of entries have been received for this year’s DfT Special Recognition Awards.

There are a total of seven prestigious awards being handed out by Local Council Roads Innovation Group (LCRIG) Chair Martin Duffy at the event in Blackpool on 4th October.

LCRIG are proud to be hosting the prestigious Special Recognition Awards on behalf of the Department for Transport (DfT), which were established by the late Steve Berry OBE, the Department for Transport’s former Head of Highways Maintenance, Innovation and Resilience. The awards recognise companies and individuals who have gone the extra mile to deliver change in the sector.

The awards form part of Strictly Highways, which will take place from 3-5 October in The Ballroom at Winter Gardens, Blackpool, and are a fantastic way to generate positive publicity, enhance your company profile, reward team success and network. The winners will be announced at the DfT Special Recognition Awards ceremony on the evening of 4th October.

LCRIG Chief Executive Paula Claytonsmith said: ”We have been overwhelmed by the number of entries this year. At LCRIG we always strive to support the industry and make the case for local roads. This year we have received a record breaking number of entries, which is testament to the work being done across the sector. Not only have we received the highest ever number of entries this year, the calibre of those entries is also amongst the best we have seen in the event’s history. I’m sure our panel of judges will have their work cut out judging the entries and we can’t wait to celebrate the achievements of the industry together.”

This year’s judges are:

  • Matthew Eglinton – Head of Local Highways Policy, Highways, Active Travel and Strategy, Roads and Local Group, Department for Transport
  • Darren Capes – Intelligent Transport Systems Policy Lead, Department for Transport
  • Paul Boss – Chief Executive Officer, Road Surface Treatments Association (RSTA)
  • Paula Claytonsmith, Chief Executive, Local Council Roads Innovation Group
  • Dr Joanna White, Roads Development Divisional Director, National Highways
  • Kerry Winstanley, Finance and Operations Director, Local Council Roads Innovation Group
  • Joseph Davidson, Project Officer – Land and Maritime Transport, Innovate UK

This year’s award categories are:

Best use of technology in the Highways and Transportation sector – sponsored by Stabilised Pavements Ltd  

This award will provide recognition to an organisation or partnership that can demonstrate the best use of technology within the highways and transportation sector.

The Transport Technology Innovation award – sponsored by the Transport Technology Forum (TTF)  

This award will recognise transformative innovations that will successfully address the evolving demands and future challenges faced by the highways and transportation sector.

Collaborative Partnership (between council(s) and supply chain) – sponsored by Tensar  

This award will provide recognition to outstanding partnerships, collaborations, or joint initiatives that have significantly contributed to the advancement and improvement of the highways and transportation sector.

Net Zero Project of the Year – sponsored by JCB  

This award will recognise an outstanding innovation project delivered by an organisation/partnership that has demonstrably contributed to accelerating or reducing the cost of decarbonisation. The project will evidence a reduction in environmental impacts, managing embedded carbon within construction and reducing air pollution.

Employer Initiative of the Year award – sponsored by WJ Group  

This award will recognise an outstanding initiative delivered by an organisation that has demonstrably contributed to supporting the retention of employees and/or encouraged new employees into the sector. The initiative may also have demonstrated a wider social value impact, e.g. through creating employment opportunities within local communities.

Highways Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by Gaist 

The Highways Apprentice of the Year Award aims to recognise and celebrate outstanding apprentices who have made significant contributions and have had a positive impact on their course, their workplace or the wider highways sector during their apprenticeship. This prestigious award acknowledges the dedication, skills and commitment demonstrated by apprentices as they progress in their career.

Best of Britain Award – sponsored by Multevo  

This award, inspired by Will Britain, the founder of LCRIG, was introduced in 2022 to celebrate a public sector individual that works on the officer or Manager side of a local authority. We know there a number of people in these roles that often have to balance, public, political, financial and community challenges but regardless of this they try and find the best solutions for their local community and do so with a passion to make things better. We want to celebrate those that have gone above and beyond to engage with their local community, improve local services, change local perceptions or play a key part in the sector.

(Picture – LCRIG)


Related Stories


All the latest highways news direct to your inbox every week day

Subscribe now